twentyteneightyfour

If I were a model, my Twitter would look like this

Posted in Editorial by Nneoma Ulu on December 8, 2009

There is no denying that fashion and social media are having quite the love affair at the moment. Real people are taking over the fashion world from their bedrooms and the industry has woken up to it this year. Rarely does my day job (PR girl) and my hobby (fashion blogging) get so intertwined that I’m not quite sure what is what. But here is Steven Meisel’s attempt to embrace or perhaps mock the social media revolution within fashion. For Vogue Italia’s December issue, Meisel gave Twitter’s popular picture-sharing service, Twitpic a makeover. The result – a 23 page editorial featuring 20 models including a pregnant Gisele, Naomi Campbell, Agyness Deyn and Vogue Italia favourite, Lara Stone candidly captured in their “everyday” lives.

Meiselpic: Steven Meisel for Vogue Italia via Fashionlogie

The editorial also features Steven Meisel himself, which is interesting as he is a pretty shy character.

Meiselpic: Sessilee Lopez via fashionologie

I guess if I was tall, modelesque and good looking I’d take candids just like this and post them on my Twitter page…

Meiselpic: Agyness Deyn via fashionologie

I definitey wouldn’t say these were candids in the ‘real person on Twitter’ send of the word but it is forward thinking on Meisel’s part. I haven’t made my mind up about whether this works or not. I have this image of Steven and Carine (Roitfield) planning their Christmas holidays and then suddenly thinking ‘damn we haven’t sorted out the front cover or the main fashion editorial for December, let’s just do a spoof of that thing on the internet people in the office are always playing with instead of working’.

Meiselpic: Naomi Campbell via fashionologie

I chose a few a my favourites but you can check out the full editorial at Fashionologie. What do you think of the editorial? Does it work? Is it an homage or is Meisel mocking this latest fad?

Leave a Reply

