twentyteneightyfour

Dear Santa, Luella’s been a good girl

Posted in News by Nneoma Ulu on November 16, 2009

Last week, the sad news hit that Luella had ceased trading after ‘a key financial backer had withdrawn funding‘. This news came as a real shock, especially as the day before, Liberty’s of London, the iconic and quintessentially British department store, unveiled their Christmas windows designed by none other than Luella herself. This weekend, I decided to go and check out the windows, seeing as this may be the last Luella-inspired thing that I see for a while.

Liberty's Luella Christmas 2009 via dazeddigital.com

I don’t need more reasons to love Christmas but if I did, these windows would be right up there. Christmas is a time when we watch things we shouldn’t like and eat in excess and these windows capture lots of those British stereotypes; it’s the perfect marriage of all things British – Luella and Liberty’s.

Liberty's Luella Christmas window via dazeddigital.com

Luella’s magical touch doesn’t stop at the windows, she’s also curated a list of Christmas must-haves that feature in the windows and are available to buy in stores and online.

I bet you Alexa Chung is holding on tight to her dress from Luella’s Spring/Summer 2010 collection that she wore to the after party of Luella’s show at London Fashion Week and I would be too. I am a Luella girl and I want Luella back! I have every hope that Luella will find the money she needs to get back up and running and provide beautiful dresses for girls like me to wear with big hair bows soon enough but in the mean time, here is my show of support:

Save Luella via theneonhive.com

Leave a Reply

