twentyteneightyfour

Stuff that dreams are made of: Erdem and Smythson of Bond Street

Posted in News by Nneoma Ulu on November 1, 2009

The thing that I love in life almost as much as clothes is stationery. I go slightly weak in stationery shops and have uncontrollable urges to spend on pens, notebooks and the like. With age, my taste has become more refined, (or so I’d like to think) and I have developed an affinity towards Smythson of Bond Street. Their stuff makes me wish that Dale’s Supermarket Sweep still existed and that I could just have one minute in a Smythson store.

After getting my first real job a couple of years back, I treated myself to a Smythson Soho Diary. It was my way of congratulating myself for getting through arduous years of education and a simple upgrade of the student diaries that had been part of my life since Year 7 at school. Smythson diaries are timeless, sophisticated and the ultimate home for all my appointments, reminders, loose post-it notes and other memorabilia from my daily life. Every year I go through a ritual of choosing the colour and this year has been a battle between Iris and Malachite. Then this little beauty dropped into my inbox to mix things up a little further. A limited collection of diaries and notebooks by British designer, Erdem and Smythson.

Smythson x Erdem Girl Diary and Notebook

Smythson x Erdem Girl Diary and Notebook

The range features Erdem’s signature abstract watercolour prints and colour-blocked line drawings engraved and printed on leather and his illustrations on Smythson’s signature featherweight paper. Erdem was inspired by  Japonism; before going on a trip to Japan, he decided to draw what he thought he’d experience there… stuff that his dreams were made of. All of the books and diaries are lined with printed silk from Erdem’s Resort 2010 collection which is probably the closest I’ll ever get to owning a piece from Erdem. I love that this collaboration brings something new and fresh to Smythson’s luxurious offering. Definitely one for the Christmas list!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. asiajo said, on November 4, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Fantastic post. Thanks for introducing Smythson of Bond Street to me – sounds like a great shop for unique gifts … I would love to have one of those that cute and stylish girl diary/notebook …

  2. Makeda said, on November 5, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    This is absolutely to DIE for!


Leave a Reply

