twentyteneightyfour

I Heart New York

Posted in News by Nneoma Ulu on October 3, 2009

One of the benefits of having an “international family” is my annual trip to New York. It’s like my second home and I love discovering new bars, restaurants and more excitingly new designers when I’m over there. A little sadistic part of me enjoys having to disappoint people who ask where a certain item of clothing I have is from and I smugly reply – New York. So imagine my glee when I heard about the Wish You Were Here Swap. This is an exchange programme like no other, linking two of the hippest and cool areas of both cities – New York’s Lower East Side and London’s Newburgh Quarter… better known as Carnaby Street and the surrounding areas. Last month, London did it’s time in New York with brands such as twenty8twelve, Hurwundeki and Fred Perry repping the Brits. From today until November 1, Londoners will be treated to clothes, jewellery and accessories from the likes of Wendy Mink Jewellery, By Robert James, In God We Trust, Reed Space, Zarin Fabric, Kaight, Earnest Sewn, Shut Skateboards, Hairy Mary’s Vintage, Adrienne’s and Still Life. If you’re wondering why most of these names are not familiar, its because they are all new to London meaning that you too can boast that your wares are from New York when asked!

Wish You Were Here Swap

Wish You Were Here Gallery, Newburgh Street

I was invited to a launch party at the two pop-up stores on Newburgh Street and Lowndes Court on Thursday night. There was beer from Brooklyn Brewery aplenty and ribs from Bodeans BBQ (yum!). There are lots of cool clothes in there, I particularly liked the little hats (pictured below). I just hope they have enough stock to keep all the punters happy. What I really enjoyed was the art space downstairs at the Newburgh Street store, the Wish You Were Here Gallery. It’s an intimate space showcasing art that is influenced by NYC through various forms from photography to installations such as the one pictured above featuring lots of multi-coloured dummy sweets. It’s definitely worth a trip just for the art if you’re trying to avoid shopping, though I’m pretty sure you’ll see something you fancy!

Fingers crossed this becomes an annual swap with designers on rotation, that would be a real treat.

Wish You Were Here London Pop-up Store

Inside the Newburgh Street Wish You Were Here Pop-up Store

Leave a Reply

