twentyteneightyfour

London Fashion Week: Rise of the pretty girl dress

Posted in London Fashion Week, Spring/Summer 2010 by Nneoma Ulu on September 22, 2009

I love a good day dress. There’s nothing better than slipping on a dress that catapults me back to the days my mother forced me to wear dresses to all of the family social functions in an attempt to make me look presentable, though I’d drop food all down myself everytime without fail. I remember my mother dressing me up in the most amazing dresses with great little and handbags and those little frilly socks (I bet she didn’t think she was setting me up for a fashion-loving life of poverty). Luella’s Spring/Summer 2010 collection makes me want to be 7 again – that perfect age when all I ever wanted to be was a pretty girl in a pretty dress. Now I am a grown-up (well at least pretending) and Luella has designed this collection seemingly with girls who want to feel pretty in mind, though old enough to wear killer shoes. It’s a real girly girl collection so tomboys need not bother. The cute separates are something that I hope will be copied on the high street – so easy to wear and more of that “grown-up” pretty girl chic. Hair extensions still needed for an up-do with that bow!

Luella SS '10 via style.com

Luella SS '10 via style.com

Luella SS '10 via style.com

Luella SS '10 via style.com

Luella SS '10 via style.com

Luella SS '10 via style.com

The dresses had barely been off the models and up pops Alex Chung sporting a cute printed number at Luella’s afterparty. Would have loved to see Alexa rocking some better shoes though….

Alexa Chung in Luella SS '10 via instyle.co.uk

Alexa Chung in Luella SS '10 via instyle.co.uk

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] bet you Alexa Chung is holding on tight to her dress from Luella’s Spring/Summer 2010 collection that she wore to the after party of Luella’s show at London Fashion Week and I would be too. […]


Leave a Reply

